Photo of The Attorney Michael Schultz
We offer free in-home consultations. Serving clients statewide.
Call us today to set up your free initial consultation.
Se habla español.
Call us today to set up your free initial consultation.
We offer free in-home consultations.
Serving clients statewide.

Workers’ Compensation FAQ

What types of injuries are covered by workers’ compensation?

A wide range of physical or psychological injuries or illnesses that you suffer as a result of work activities are covered under workers’ compensation law. It could be an injury that occurs from a single event, such as a fall at work, or a repetitive stress injury, or an occupational disease that takes years to develop. Pre-existing injuries that are aggravated by work activities are also covered.

Do I need a lawyer?

Your employer and its insurer likely have a team of lawyers and workers’ compensation professionals protecting their interests. Without an attorney, an injured worker has little ability to evaluate whether they are being treated fairly. It is always advisable to have your own attorney for a workers’ compensation claim. The issues are simply too complex and the battle too tough to go it alone.

What benefits am I entitled to receive?

Ith4 depends on the type and extent of your injury, your medical needs, your injury date wage and how long you are out of work. Generally speaking, injured workers are entitled to benefits to cover medical expenses, wage loss, disability and vocational rehabilitation.

Can I choose my own doctor?

Yes. Under Minnesota law, you do have the right to choose your own doctor for a workers’ compensation injury. If you have already been treating with a doctor your employer sent you to, you can switch doctors within 60 days of your initial treatment. If you wish to change doctors after 60 days, you need a compelling reason to do so.

How does my attorney get paid?

The good news is you don’t have to pay your attorney anything upfront in a workers’ compensation case. These cases are billed on a contingent fee basis, meaning that you only pay your attorney a fee if there is a recovery, and the fee will be a percentage of that recovery.

Can I get fired for reporting my work injury?

No. Minnesota law prohibits employers from retaliating against employees for reporting work injuries. However, it is possible that you may lose your job if your injury prevents you from performing your work duties. Talk to an experienced workers’ compensation attorney to learn how Minnesota law applies in your situation.

Contact Us For Answers To All Your Workers’ Compensation Questions

Were you injured on the job? To discuss your workers’ comp claim with an accomplished lawyer in Minneapolis, contact the Michael Schultz Law Firm by calling 612-412-4916 or 800-557-6905 or by filling out a brief contact form.